Wirral Council is made up of 66 locally elected councillors across 22 electoral wards.

Find a councillor  

Political parties

The political composition of the council is as follows:

  • Labour – 32 seats 
  • Conservative – 22 seats
  • Liberal Democrats – 6 seats
  • The Green Party – 3 seat 
  • Independent - 3 seats

The council is governed by a minority administration of Labour Councillors.

Results of the May 2019 local elections

Full Council

The full Council meets around seven times a year to approve the constitution, set annual budgets and agree council policies.

Other duties of the full Council include:

  • the receipt of petitions
  • taking questions from members of the public through a ‘Question time’ session (subject to appropriate notice)
  • the receipt of decisions and consideration of recommendations from the Cabinet and committees
  • consideration of motions submitted by individual members

Councillors’ declarations of interest

Councillors on outside bodies

Councillor allowances

Make a complaint about a Councillor