Public Notice

Designation of areas for selective licensing Section 80, Housing Act 2004

Notice is hereby given that on the 9th day of March 2020 Wirral Council in exercise of its powers under Section 80 of the Housing Act 2004 (“the Act”) designated 6 areas, namely parts of Birkenhead and Seacombe described in the Schedule below as being subject to selective licensing from 1st July 2020.

On 13th May 2020 Wirral Council resolved to delay the coming into force of the designation until 1st October 2020.

The designation may be inspected between 9.00 and 17.00 on weekdays at the Council’s address which is:

Wirral Council, Housing Services, Town Hall, South Annexe, Brighton Street, Wallasey, Wirral, CH44 8ED. Tel: 0151 691 8114 or email:

If you are a landlord, a person managing a property, or a tenant of a property within the areas of the designation you are advised to seek advice from the Council on whether your property is affected by the designation.

If you wish to do this to obtain a licence or if you require a licence application or any general advice regarding the designation you are advised to contact the Selective Licensing Team within Housing Services at the address, telephone or email above.

The designation falls within a description of designations for which the Secretary of State has issued a General Approval under Section 82 of the Act, namely the Licensing of Houses in Multiple Occupation and Selective Licensing of Other Residential Accommodation (England) General Approval 2015. Therefore the designation need not be confirmed and will come into force on 1st October 2020 and unless previously revoked, this designation shall cease to have effect on 30th September 2025.

Upon the designation coming into force on 1st October 2020 any person having control of or managing a licensable property without a licence is liable to prosecution under Section 95(1) of the Act and upon summary conviction is liable to an unlimited fine or under Section 249A a financial penalty not exceeding £30,000. In addition, such a person may be required, pursuant to a rent repayment order, to repay up to 12 months’ rent under the provisions of Section 96 and Section 97 of the Act.


The designation shall have effect to any property situated, at any time during the designation, within the Lower Super Output Areas listed below save for any properties situated, at any time during the designation, within the area edged in red on the copy plans within the Lower Super Output Area Egremont Promenade South (E1007215) posted in the manner set out in this Schedule.

Copy plans of the areas affected and a copy of this notice will be posted on the Wirral Council website and on noticeboards in Council buildings in or nearest to the areas subject to the designation.

Area 1 Birkenhead South (LSOA E01007129) this includes properties in: Alexandra Road, Alfred Road, Balls Road, Belmont Grove, Borough Road, Carnforth Close, Euston Grove, Francis Avenue, Grange Mount, Grange Road West, Grange View, Hawarden Avenue, Henthorne Street, Merton Place, Osborne Road, Oxton Road, Park Road South, Quarry Bank, Radnor Place, Ravenscroft Road, Ridley Street, Shaw Street, The Lindens, Alfred Road, Tetbury Street, Town View, Town View Mews, Westbourne Road, Whetstone Lane.

Area 2 Egerton North (LSOA E01007179) this includes properties in: Borough Road, Church Road, Derby Road, Elm Road, Elmswood Road, Fountain Street, Greenbank Road, Greenway Road, Harrowby Road, Harrowby Road South, Heathbank Road, North Road, St. Catherines Gardens, Walker Mews, Walker Place, Walker Street, Whitford Road.
Area 3 Egremont Promenade South (LSOA E1007215) this includes properties in: Blenheim Road, Church Gardens, Egremont Promenade, Greenwood Lane, King Street, Kinglake Road, Marsden Close, Poole Road, Pooley Close, Rice Lane, Rudgrave Place, Rudgrave Square, Seabank Avenue, Seabank Road, St Brides Road, St Columbas Close, St Elmo Road, St Lucia Road, St Vincent Road, Tobin Street, Trafalgar Avenue, Trafalgar Road, Wright Street.

Area 4 Egremont South (LSOA E1007275) this includes properties in: Alverstone Road, Birnam Road, Church Close, Church Street, Churchmeadow Close, Clarendon Road, Dalehurst Close, Drayton Road, Elmbank Street, Falkland Road, Gorsebank Street, Halville Road, Liscard Road, Lumley Road, Northbrook Road, Oakbank Street, Park Avenue, Park Road, Parkside, Poulton Road, Redfield Close, Rivington Road, Trentham Road, Withington Road.

Area 5 Seacombe Library (LSOA E01007278) this includes properties in: Addington Street, Albemarle Road, Bell Road, Belle Vue Road, Borough Road, Brougham Road, Bulkeley Road, Clarence Road, Edith Road, Ethel Road, Florence Road, Gladstone Road, Glenburn Road, Hatherley Street, Hood Street, Ilchester Road, Kenilworth Road, Liscard Road, Mainwaring Road, Naples Road, Poulton Road, Rappart Road, Wesley Grove, Wickham Close.

Area 6 Tranmere Lairds (LSOA E1007291) this includes properties in: Argyle Street South, Borough Road, Clifton Road, Fairview, Frodsham Street, Green Lane, Helmingham Grove, Hillside Close, Hillside Road, Hinderton Close, Hinderton Road, Holborn Hill, Holt Hill, Holt Hill Terrace, Holt Road, Leighton Road, Marquis Street, Old Chester Road, Olive Crescent, Olive Mount, Pearson Road, Pembroke Court, Queen Street, Rodney Street, Warrington Street, Westbury Street, Whetstone Lane.

Unless otherwise stated, all Metropolitan Borough of Wirral Public Notices are published by Philip McCourt, Director of Governance and Assurance, Town Hall, Brighton Street, Wallasey, Merseyside, CH44 8ED and all notices are dated the 13th day of May 2020.