A hate crime is defined as any incident perceived to be motivated by hostility or prejudice towards any aspect of a person’s identity. Police forces in the UK annually monitor five types of hate crime:

  • disability
  • gender identity
  • race
  • ethnicity or nationality
  • religion, faith or belief 
  • sexual orientation

How to report hate crime

  • Merseyside Police 101 or 999 in an emergency
  • Stop Hate UK also has a 24-hour helpline on 0800 138 1625