Local Geological Sites

There are 15 Local Geological Sites in Wirral.

These non-statutory sites, previously known as Sites of Local Importance for Earth Science, are protected through the Unitary Development Plan (UDP) process.

Since the adoption of the UDP in 2000 the Cheshire RIGS (Regionally Important Geological and Geomorphological Sites) Group has continued to review sites of local importance for earth science.

This identified a number of proposed changes to the original schedule of sites, including the removal of sites which no longer meet the criteria for inclusion and the addition of new sites which now meet the criteria for inclusion.

The Council has recently agreed the revised schedule of Local Geological Sites, as a material consideration for use by Planning Committee in the determination of individual planning applications.

You can download more information about the Local Geological Sites review process.

A list of the Local Geological Sites in Wirral is set out below. You can download a map (in PDF format) showing the location and boundaries of the sites by following the links.

Site No.
1.        Red and Yellow Noses, New Brighton

2.        Grange Hill, West Kirby

3.        Irby Quarry

4.        Mill Road, Bromborough

5.        Hilbre Point / Red Rocks, Hoylake

6.        Hilbre Island, Hoylake / West Kirby

7.        Caldy Hill

8.        Thurstaston Common

10.      Storeton Hill, Bebington

11.      Bidston Hill

13.      Telegraph Road Cutting, Thurstaston

14.      Boundary Road, Bidston

15.      Lower Flaybrick, Bidston

16.      Arrowe Brook, Woodchurch

17.      Flaybrick Cemetery, Bidston