Local elections took place in Wirral on Thursday 6 May 2021.

Wirral Council has 66 Councillors in 22 electoral wards. Each ward is represented by three Councillors. One Councillor in each ward stands for election in three out of every four years.

Each Councillor is elected for a term of four years, except in 2021, when Councillors were elected for a three year term. This is because elections were held over from 2020.

Local election results

The votes for the local elections will be counted on the afternoon of Friday 7 May.

View the local election results

Results of previous local elections

Results of local elections since May 2016

Results of local elections before May 2016

Current makeup of Wirral council

View the political makeup of the council following the May 2021 elections