Browse cabinet meetings, minutes and reports

View the Forward Plan, containing details of all the key decisions expected to be taken during the next four months.


The Cabinet is made up of the leader of the council, Councillor Pat Hackett and nine Cabinet members who each have responsibility for a specific service area. The deputy leader of the council is Councillor Anita Leech.

The Cabinet is responsible for the council’s key decisions. These decisions are then subject to scrutiny by one of four Overview and Scrutiny Committees.

Cabinet members 2019-20

Leader of the Council

Overall strategic direction
of Council; Lead the Wirral
Partnership; Lead Wirral
across Liverpool City Region
Councillor Pat Hackett
Deputy Leader of the Council;
The Local Plan
Councillor Anita Leech
Adult care, health and wellbeing Councillor Chris Jones
Children, families and education Councillor Tom Usher
Community Services Councillor Julie McManus
Environment and climate change Councillor Elizabeth Grey
Finance and Resources Councillor Janette Williamson
Housing and Planning Councillor Stuart Whittingham
Regeneration and Growth Councillor Tony Jones
Culture and Tourism Councillor Christine Spriggs

Non-key decisions are delegated to individual Cabinet Members who each have responsibility for their own service area.