The Birkenhead constituency comprises the wards of:

  • Bidston and St James
  • Birkenhead and Tranmere
  • Claughton
  • Oxton
  • Prenton
  • Rock Ferry

About the Committee

The Birkenhead Constituency Committee is made up of 18 ward councillors - 3 from each ward – and appoints a Chair at the first meeting of each municipal year. It has a number of important functions including:

  • acting as a voice for the community and working more closely with community groups and volunteers to support local projects
  • the development of an action plan which reflects the needs and priorities of the area
  • making sure residents can have a say on the quality, range and level of services provided in the area by public bodies
  • to provide public bodies with an opportunity to consult with local people on the development and delivery of plans, programmes and services

From May 2019 there will be changes to the way the committee operates, read further information about the new model for community engagement and arrangements agreed in 2018.

Find contact, surgery and other information for each of the councillors

See copies of agendas, minutes, reports and future meetings

Find out more: